Drunk driving affects thousands of people each year, and Connecticut law enforcement is always ready to crack down on suspected offenders. In their effort to get dangerous drivers off the road, some police officers are quick to arrest and book someone on drunk driving charges. If you have been arrested, you may be severely prosecuted and face serious penalties. It is important that after you are taken into custody you contact a DUI defense attorney from Bayer & Black, P.C. as soon as you can. Our legal team is prepared to provide you with the best possible representation to ensure that you receive the best outcome for your case.
Completing The Alcohol Education Program Can Help Keep Your Record Clean
If you have never been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Connecticut or any other state, you may be eligible for this program which will keep your record clean if successfully completed. You are eligible for this program once every 10 years. Granting the program is within the court’s discretion.
Determining factors the court looks at are whether you were cooperative with the police, any other crimes charged, overall criminal and motor vehicle record, level of impairment, whether there was an accident or a near miss, if you are insured, and whether you are likely to benefit from the program.
Repeat Offenders Face Mandatory Jail Time and Fines
Repeat offenders face mandatory periods of incarceration and mandatory fines. If it is your first conviction, you may be eligible to elect 100 hours of community service in lieu of a mandatory two days in jail. Second convictions may be sentenced up to one year in jail, 120 days of which is a mandatory minimum, in addition to a three-year license suspension. Steep fines of $500 to $2,000 are mandatory.
Per Se License Suspensions
Connecticut is an implied consent state. This means that if you are arrested for DUI, you have given your implied consent for the police to demand you take a breath, urine, or blood test to measure your blood alcohol content. Refusing a test means an automatic 45-day suspension of your driver's license.
It does not matter whether you are guilty of DUI or not. A refusal also means you will not be able to get your license restored after the 45-day suspension until you install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. A refusal requires the use of the IID for a period of no less than 1 year.
If you take the test and your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit of .08 than you will have an automatic 45-day suspension of your driver's license. It does not matter whether you are guilty of DUI or not. A failed test also means you will not be able to get your license restored after the 45-day suspension until you install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. A failed test requires the use of the IID for a period of no less than 6 months.
- You may be eligible for a special operators permit to drive your vehicle to work or to school during the initial 45 day suspension period.
- You have a right to appeal any suspension, and we have won these appeals numerous times. Call us immediately if you are arrested and asked to take a test
For more detailed information, please access our free report The Hard Truth about DUI in Connecticut (in process).
Defending a Person Charged With Drunk Driving: You Do Still Have Rights
While a DUI charge can be devastating for a person, it is important to know that you may still be able to receive a lesser offense or an acquittal of your charges. Connecticut recognizes a person as intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. If the individual is under the age of 21, however, they will be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content is 0.02 percent or higher.
Police use breathalyzers, urine tests, and blood tests to show your blood alcohol content. Breath, urine, and blood tests that are used to charge someone with a DUI can also be faulty and may provide improper readings and wrong determinations of blood alcohol content.
Police also use Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs) to show impairment. SFSTs must be performed in a very specific way, or they are worthless and subject to attack.
Our DUI Attorneys Serve all of Fairfield County
It is important that you retain our representation right away after you are arrested. Contact our Fairfield County criminal defense team to schedule a free case evaluation as soon as possible.