Over 40 Years of Collective Experience to Offer
If you were recently arrested on drug possession charges in Fairfield County, we want you to know that at Bayer & Black, P.C., we're here to help. Our attorneys have over 40 years of combined experience, we have a former prosecutor on our team, and we have a 9.3 Superb Avvo Rating. As passionate criminal defense lawyers who fight hard to protect our clients' rights and help them achieve the most favorable outcome possible, we will give you and your case the same level of tenacious dedication.
In Connecticut, it's against the law for anyone to possess or have under their control any controlled substance, hallucinogenic, or narcotic, unless it was acquired through a valid prescription. The penalties for drug possession depend on the type of drug in your possession, where you were when you committed the criminal act, and whether this was your first or repeat offense.
What are the penalties for drug possession?
In Connecticut, possession is defined under 2.11-1.
Less than 1/2 ounce of marijuana – On a first offense, a $150 fine. For subsequent offenses, $200 to $500 fine. A 60-day license suspension for anyone under 21. Third-time violators must attend a drug education program at their own expense.
Narcotics (heroin, cocaine, and crack) – First offense, up to 7 years in prison, up to $50,000 in fines, or both. Second offense: up to 15 years in prison, up to $100,000 in fines, or both. Subsequent offenses: up to 25 years in prison, up to $250,000 in fines or both.
At least 4 ounces of marijuana or any other quantity of hallucinogens – First offense: up to 5 years in prison, up to $5,000 in fines, or both. Subsequent offenses include up to 10 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, or both.
At least 1/2 ounce of marijuana, but less than 4 ounces, or any other drug – First offense: up to 1 year in prison, up to a $1,000 fine, or both. Subsequent offenses: Up to 5 years in prison, up to $5,000 in fines, or both.
Note that if you are caught possessing 1/2 ounce or more of marijuana or any quantity of other illegal drugs within 1,500 feet of an elementary or secondary school, or a licensed day care, you face a mandatory 2-year prison term, which will run consecutively with the term imposed for the underlying possession crime.
Contact a Fairfield County drug crime lawyer!
If you've recently been arrested on possession charges, we urge you to contact Bayer & Black, P.C. to speak directly with a Fairfield County drug crime lawyer. In order to make things as easy as possible on you, we offer free case evaluations, and installment plans.
Don't let a drug possession charge ruin your future – contact us immediately to find out how we can help you!