Ignition Interlock Law in Connecticut

Starting in Connecticut on Wednesday, July 1, 2015, all DUI offenders, even those eligible for the Alcohol Education Program, will be required to use an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).  The time period is 6 months if they fail a breath, urine, or blood test, and 1 year if they refuse to take such a test. This penalty will increase for subsequent offenses. As a result of these changes an accused will be unable to use any motor vehicle that is not equipped with such a device for that period of time. Prior to this change only those DUI offenders who's arrest led to a conviction had to use an IID. 

The requirement to use an IID will be preceded by a 45 day license suspension for anyone failing or refusing the above tests. These penalties are imposed by the Department of Motor vehicles and are in addition to any penalties imposed by the court.

Go here to view the exact steps you need to follow to comply with the IID requirement. https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Suspension/Suspension/Ignition-Interlock-Device-Program

How New DUI Laws Affect Your Case

Have you been accused of drinking and driving? The stakes are now higher for individuals charged with driving under the influence. If you are facing charges, it is more important than ever that you secure a DUI lawyer who will aggressively defend you throughout your case. Come to Bayer & Black, P.C. to work with an award-winning criminal defense attorney in Fairfield County.

Call us today at (203) 762-0751 to find out more.

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment